Societies and Organisations


The Knights of St Columba

The Knights of St Columba is the largest lay organisation of Catholic men in the UK today with members stretching from the north of Scotland to the Channel Islands.

Knights of St Columba LogoThe Order is split into 36 Provinces the local one here being Province 4 (Northumbria) which covers an area from the Scottish border to North Yorkshire and from the North Sea to the border of Cumbria. Our motto is "Serving God by serving others" and our 3 precepts are Charity, Unity & Fraternity.

In this Province there are Councils in Ashington, Newcastle, Birtley, Durham, Darlington & Middlesbrough.

We offer total allegiance to our Holy Father the Pope and to our bishops & clergy. In addition to our presence within the UK we are also founder members of the International Alliance of Catholic Knights (IACK) with similar Orders throughout the world, such as the Knights of Columbus in the Americas, the Knights of the Southern Cross in Australia & New Zealand, the Knights of Da Gama in S Africa, the Knights of Columbanus in Ireland etc, etc.

In addition to other activities in the diocese Province 4 organises the local diocesan Rosary Rally at the Little Sisters of the Poor in Newcastle.


Knights of St Columba: Parish Insert from Bishop's House March 2015


Local Contact:


Tel 0191 489 8628


Co 72 (Ashington) meets at St Aidan's Church in Ashington 
Co 33 (Newcastle) meets in alternate months at St Dominic's, Newcastle & St Joseph's, Gateshead 
Co 549 (Birtley) meets at Our Lady Queen of Peace in Penshaw 
Co 97 (Durham) meets at St Joseph's, Gilesgate, Durham 
Co 29 (Middlesborough) meets at Saint Mary's Cathedral, Middlesbrough on the first Tuesday of each month at 6:30p.m.

If you would like to join, or find out more information then Email: A.E.Semens

National Website for Knights of St Columba: